Kopenhagen, Denmark » City Info » Geography

Copenhagen (Kopenhagen) is part of the Øresund Region. It is located on the island of Zealand and partly on the island of Amager, and several natural and artificial islets between the two. Copenhagen faces the Øresund to the east, the strait of water that separates Denmark from Sweden and connects the North Sea with the Baltic Sea.

The city centre is defined initially by the old ramparts, referred to as Fortification Ring and kept as a partial green band around it. The Swedish towns of Malmö and Landskrona lie on the Swedish side of the sound directly across from Copenhagen.

An agglomeration comprising many cities, large towns, and larger urban areas through population growth and physical expansion has merged to form a continuous, urban, and industrially developed area called Greater Copenhagen, which comprises numerous municipalities.

The central area of Copenhagen consists of low-lying flat ground. The ground is formed by moraines from the last ice age. The hilly areas to the west and north side rise to 50m (160ft) above sea level. Sortedams So, Peblinge So and Sankt Jorgens So are the three lakes close to the city centre.


Copenhagen experiences an oceanic climate.

Summers in Copenhagen have average high temperatures of around 21°C (69.8°F) and lows of around 13°C (55.4°F). June is the sunniest month around eight hours of sunshine. July is comparatively warm.

Copenhagen in spring (March to May) gets warmer with around six hours of sunshine. The Driest month of the year is February.

July to September it rains, and snowfall occurs in late December to early March. The snow cover does not remain for a very long period.